JUST… Take My Money Atlus

UGHHHH. So I’ve never played the Persona series, or its parent series Shin Megami Tensei for that matter. Of course, it’s for no other reason than fear of the unknown–I do like JRPGs, but I have been burned in the past by promising releases. However, the Persona series is a gaming series that has been consistently lauded as forward-thinking, innovative and grown-up, and with Persona 5, I just can’t take it anymore. I need it.

Of course, Persona 5 is not the first game in the series to be celebrated like this. I remember similar acclaim for both Persona 4 and Persona 3 back in the PS2 era, but somehow I have stubbornly managed to not try out these games, even though I’ve owned both a PSP and a PS Vita, which collectively contain all of the games in the series up to this point in one form or another.

Well, like I said, Persona 5 is the straw that broke the camel’s back for me. This game just looks too good. Every screenshot is a bombastic, stylish assault of colors and personality. It looks unlike any other game I’ve ever seen before. But I had a dilemma–should I really buy Persona 5 first? Should I go back and start from the original Persona on the PlayStation, or get the PSP remake? Should I start from the highly praised PS2 games, or maybe the fan favorite Persona 2? What if Persona 5 is so good that it lowers my opinions of these past games once I get to them? Like always, trying to nudge your way into a franchise you’re not familiar with can be daunting.

But you know what? Fuck it. I want Persona 5. 

2017 has had a TON of critically acclaimed games so far, but for some reason I just haven’t had the drive to try out, say, Resident Evil 7 or Horizon: Zero Dawn just yet. There’s just something about Persona that is so infectious that as I sit here watching it download, I can’t wait to play it, and I’ve never even played a Persona or Shin Megami Tensei game before.

Leave a Reply

